76cm x 76cm acrylic on canvas, unframed
To ask about availability, please click here.

Description of Allegretto from Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 in A. Op. 92

Artist Statement

I had this piece of music on constant repeat whilst I painted this.

Beethoven’s music is a subtle mix of dominating structures resonating with gravitas supported by delicate melodies. I first sought to capture the dominant theme creating the gravitas with the three large purple, turquoise and red objects. Large and ephemeral, these are the foundations on which the piece is built. The marks within them acknowledge the overlaid passages and motifs of the music and, their role as a jumping off point for completely separate musical ideas.

As every inch of his aural canvas is overlaid with complex interwoven elements, I have tried to represent his structures in two fixed dimensions. The maestro’s hands are faintly represented in the process of conducting around the centre of the work.

More information

More Art More artwork samples
Profile About Ade Blakey

©  Copyright Adrian Blakey 2021

This artwork, its description and all images of this artwork accessible on or via this website are copyright.  Any use, copying,  reproduction, adaptation, varying, modifying, publishing, renting, leasing, licensing, selling, or disclosing  of  the artist’s intellectual property (including copyright)  (collectively “Use”) of any kind for any purpose whatsoever except for viewing or reading on this website requires the prior written authorization of Adrian Blakey. Any other form of Use is expressly prohibited and will be prosecuted to maximum extent permitted by law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.